• Book Review The Doctor of Aleppo by Dan Mayland
    Bianca B,  Books,  Fiction,  Historical Fiction

    The Doctor of Aleppo by Dan Mayland

    Categories: Bianca B, Books, Fiction, Historical FictionAuthor: Dan MaylandGenres: Fiction, Historical FictionPublisher: Blackstone PublishingPublished: 8/11/2020"Heroic and Heartbreaking." —Booklist In the ancient Silk Road city of Aleppo, a young American woman is sucked into the Syrian civil war engulfing the city. Relentlessly pursued by a Javert-like secret police officer, her only refuge is the rebel hospital run by a renowned surgeon. In The Doctor of Aleppo, Dan Mayland, author of the bestselling Mark Sava spy novel series, pairs a thriller writer's sensibilities with a gripping account of good people trapped…The Doctor of Aleppo by Dan Mayland American aid worker, Hannah works in Aleppo doing community development. But when the Syrian civil…

  • Etiquette For Runaways by Liza Nash Taylor
    Books,  Fiction,  Historical Fiction,  Melissa Ann

    Etiquette For Runaways by Liza Nash Taylor

    Categories: Books, Fiction, Historical Fiction, Melissa AnnAuthor: Liza Nash TaylorGenres: Fiction, Historical Fiction, Women's FictionPublisher: Blackstone PublishingPublished: 8/18/20201924. May Marshall is determined to spend the dog days of summer in self-imposed exile at her father’s farm in Keswick, Virginia. Following a naive dalliance that led to heartbreak and her expulsion from Mary Baldwin College, May returns home with a shameful secret only to find her father’s orchard is now the site of a lucrative moonshining enterprise. Despite warnings from the one man she trusts—her childhood friend Byrd—she joins her father’s illegal business.…Etiquette For Runaways by Liza Nash Taylor Special thanks to Suzy Approved Book Tours for providing our copy of…

  • The First Emma by Camille Di Maio Book Review
    Books,  Fiction,  Historical Fiction,  Melissa Ann

    The First Emma by Camille Di Maio

    Categories: Books, Fiction, Historical Fiction, Melissa AnnAuthor: Camille Di MaioGenres: Fiction, Historical FictionPublished: NaN/NaN/NaNInspired by true events 1914 - Young bride Emma Koehler dreams of a happy marriage and a simple life with her husband, but her hopes are quickly dashed by Otto’s obsession with his business. Though they become one of the wealthiest couples in the country – a fortune made on beer, mining, and hospitality - Emma is lonely in their stone mansion, unable to have children and unable to keep his attentions at home. When…Special thanks to Lake Union & Suzy Approved Book Tours for providing our copy of The First Emma by Camille Di Maio in…

  • The German Heiress by Anika Scott Book Review
    Bianca B,  Fiction,  Historical Fiction

    The German Heiress by Anika Scott

    Categories: Bianca B, Fiction, Historical FictionAuthor: Anika ScottGenre: Historical FictionPublisher: William Morrow PaperbacksPublished: 4/7/2020For readers of The Alice Network and The Lost Girls of Paris, an immersive, heart-pounding debut about a German heiress on the run in post-World War II Germany. Clara Falkenberg, once Germany’s most eligible and lauded heiress, earned the nickname “the Iron Fräulein” during World War II for her role operating her family’s ironworks empire. It’s been nearly two years since the war ended and she’s left with nothing but a false identification card and…Special thanks to TLC Book Tours & William Morrow for providing our copy of The German Heiress by Anika Scott in exchange for…

  • House of Lies by Terry Lynn Thomas
    Books,  Fiction,  Historical Fiction,  Melissa Ann

    House of Lies by Terry Lynn Thomas

    Categories: Books, Fiction, Historical Fiction, Melissa AnnAuthor: Terry Lynn ThomasGenre: Historical FictionSeries: Cat CarlislePublisher: HQ DigitalPublished: 3/4/2020From the USA Today bestselling author of THE SILENT WOMAN comes a new Cat Carlisle mystery! In a time of war, nowhere is safe… While World War Two rages, Cat Carlisle runs a women’s refuge to protect beaten wives. But when one of the women is found dead in the woods behind the house, Cat’s world shatters. Was the killer a violent husband seeking revenge? A secret lover? Or is something more dangerous at play?…Special thanks to Suzy Book Tours & HQ Digital for providing our copy of House of Lies by Terry Lynn…

  • Book review The Forgotten Letters of Esther Durrant by Kayte Nunn
    Bianca B,  Books,  Fiction,  Historical Fiction

    The Forgotten Letters of Esther Durrant by Kayte Nunn

    Categories: Bianca B, Books, Fiction, Historical FictionAuthor: Kayte NunnGenre: Historical FictionPublisher: William Morrow PaperbacksPublished: 3/3/2020A cache of unsent love letters from the 1950s is found in a suitcase on a remote island in this mysterious love story in the tradition of the novels by Kate Morton and Elizabeth Gilbert . 1951. Esther Durrant, a young mother, is committed to an isolated mental asylum by her husband. Run by a pioneering psychiatrist, the hospital is at first Esther’s prison but soon surprisingly becomes her refuge. 2018. Free-spirited marine scientist Rachel Parker…Special thanks to TLC Book Tours & William Morrow for providing our copy of The Forgotten Letters of Esther Durrant by Kayte…

  • Resistance Women by Jennifer Chiaverini Book Review
    Bianca B,  Books,  Fiction,  Historical Fiction

    Resistance Women by Jennifer Chiaverini

    Categories: Bianca B, Books, Fiction, Historical FictionAuthor: Jennifer ChiaveriniGenre: Historical FictionPublisher: William Morrow PaperbacksPublished: 2/4/2020From the New York Times bestselling author of Mrs. Lincoln's Dressmaker, an enthralling historical saga that recreates the danger, romance, and sacrifice of an era and brings to life one courageous, passionate American--Mildred Fish Harnack--and her circle of women friends who waged a clandestine battle against Hitler in Nazi Berlin. After Wisconsin graduate student Mildred Fish marries brilliant German economist Arvid Harnack, she accompanies him to his German homeland, where a promising future awaits. In…Resistance Women by Jennifer Chiaverini A heartbreaking portrait of four women and their journey through World War II. Resistance Women was one…

  • The Second Midnight by ANdrew Taylor
    Uncategorized

    The Second Midnight

    Author: Andrew TaylorGenre: Historical FictionSeries: BlainesPublisher: HarperCollinsPublished: 1/28/2020From the international bestselling author comes a World War Two tale of one boy’s fight for survival in Nazi Europe A secret mission… 1939. As Europe teeters on the brink of war, Alfred Kendall is tasked with carrying out a minor mission for the British Intelligence Service. Travelling to Prague, he takes his troubled young son, Hugh, as cover. A terrible choice… When Hitler invades Czechoslovakia, Alfred is given an ultimatum by the Czech Resistance.…

  • Book Review The Light OVer London by Julia Kelly
    Uncategorized

    The Light Over London

    Author: Julia KellyGenre: Historical FictionPublisher: Gallery BooksPublished: 1/8/2019Reminiscent of Martha Hall Kelly's Lilac Girls and Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale, this sweeping, entrancing story is a must-read for fans of remarkable women rising to challenges they could never have predicted. It’s always been easier for Cara Hargraves to bury herself in the past than confront the present, which is why working with a gruff but brilliant antiques dealer is perfect. While clearing out an estate, she pries open an old tin that holds…

  • Book review A Sister’s Courage by Molly Green
    Uncategorized

    A Sister’s Courage (The Victory Sisters, #1)

    Author: Molly GreenGenre: Historical FictionSeries: The Victory SistersPublisher: AvonPublished: 11/28/2019It’s 1939 and the threat of war hangs over Britain… A spirited young woman, Raine Linfoot has always had an overriding ambition to take to the skies. Her hero, Doug Williams, teaches her to fly when she is just 17. With her pilot’s license it seems as though the sky’s the limit for Raine … until war breaks out. Raine knows that her place is not at home and she is determined to assist the…

Let's Be Friends

Receive our newsletter filled with recs to find your next pop culture obsession. 

Thanks for subscribing!

Pin It on Pinterest