The German Heiress by Anika Scott Book Review
Bianca B,  Fiction,  Historical Fiction

The German Heiress by Anika Scott

The German Heiress
Author:
Published: 4/7/2020
For readers of The Alice Network and The Lost Girls of Paris, an immersive, heart-pounding debut about a German heiress on the run in post-World War II Germany. Clara Falkenberg, once Germany’s most eligible and lauded heiress, earned the nickname “the Iron Fräulein” during World War II for her role operating her family’s ironworks empire. It’s been nearly two years since the war ended and she’s left with nothing but a false identification card and…

Special thanks to TLC Book Tours & William Morrow for providing our copy of The German Heiress by Anika Scott in exchange for an honest & fair review.

The German Heiress by Anika Scott

Clara Falkenberg is on the run. Since World War II ended nearly two years ago, she’s been leading a quiet life with a false identification card. But, the lure of returning to her hometown to look for her friend, Elisa, may be her downfall.

A Narrow Escape

Known as the “Iron Fräulein” for her role operating her family’s ironworks factories, Clara was once among Germany’s most eligible heiresses. Since her escape from Essen near the end of the war, she’s been living in Hamelin under the alias Margarete Muller. She even considered marrying the local doctor.

But, when several letters to her oldest friend, Elisa, go unanswered Clara decides to return to Essen to find out what happened. While on the train to Essen, she’s interrogated by a British officer accusing her (and her father) of war crimes. Narrowly escaping arrest, Clara begins searching the ruins of the city for clues. Along the way, she meets black-marketeer, Jakob, who is by chance is looking for Clara.

Will Jakob help her find Elisa? Or will he had her over to the determined British officer?

THE VERDICT

I am really into this book. I’m a sucker for WWII historical fiction, and Anika Scott’s writing drew me in from the first page. The German Heiress is a page-turner that forces us to confront what it meant to be a German who cooperated with the Nazi regime, believing they had no other choice. Can we have empathy for a person who did terrible things, and whose conscience tells them it was the only means of survival? This is a great book if you were a fan of The Alice Network.

Let’s connect over books! Let’s be friends on Goodreads. You can check out more of Bianca’s reviews here.

More Info About The German Heiress by Anika Scott

Purchase Links for The German Heiress by Anika Scott

HarperCollins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

About Anika Scott

Anika Scott grew up outside Detroit, Michigan and has a BA inInternational Relations from Michigan State University and an MS in Journalism from Columbia University in New York. She worked for the Philadelphia Inquirer and the Chicago Tribune before moving to Germany in 2001. Since then she has freelanced for US and European media including Deutschlandfunk, and taught journalism at the Technical University in Chemnitz. She now lives in Essen with her husband and two daughters.

Follow Anika on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rate this review:

Let's Be Friends

Receive our newsletter filled with recs to find your next pop culture obsession. 

Thanks for subscribing!

Pin It on Pinterest