Book Review: The Little Shop of Found Things by Paula Brackston Amazon
Books,  Fiction,  Historical Fiction,  Melissa Ann

Book Review: The Little Shop of Found Things by Paula Brackston

Book Review: The Little Shop of Found Things by Paula Brackston Amazon
Amazon

Book Review: The Little Shop of Found Things by Paula Brackston

The lowdown from Goodreads

Publication Date October 16th, 2018

A new series about a young woman whose connection to antiques takes her on a magical adventure, reminiscent of Outlander

New York Times bestselling author of The Witch’s Daughter Paula Brackston returns to her trademark blend of magic and romance to launch a new series guaranteed to enchant her audience even more.

Xanthe and her mother Flora leave London behind for a fresh start, taking over an antique shop in the historic town of Marlborough. Xanthe has always had an affinity with some of the antiques she finds. When she touches them, she can sense something of the past they come from and the stories they hold. So when she has an intense connection to a beautiful silver chatelaine she has to know more.

It’s while she’s examining the chatelaine that she’s transported back to the seventeenth century. And shortly after, she’s confronted by a ghost who reveals that this is where the antique has its origins. The ghost tasks Xanthe with putting right the injustice in its story to save an innocent girl’s life, or else it’ll cost her Flora’s.

While Xanthe fights to save her amid the turbulent days of 1605, she meets architect Samuel Appleby. He may be the person who can help her succeed. He may also be the reason she can’t bring herself to leave.

With its rich historical detail, strong mother-daughter relationship, and picturesque English village, The Little Shop of Found Things is poised to be a strong start to this new series.

Book Review: The Little Shop of Found Things by Paula Brackston

How do I describe this book? Fantastical, magical and thought-provoking.

Fans of Outlander, Highlander & Quantum Leap will love this book. Luckily for me, I love all three of those shows. The dual timelines allow the main character to jump between the past and present. The Little Shop of Found Things has elements of fantasy, magic & historical fiction woven amongst a beautiful love story.

Bravely, Xanthe is trying to save someone’s life. Obviously, there’s a lot at stake. Although some parts seem a bit wordy, I thoroughly enjoy this book.

THE VERDICT

I am Really Into This book! I love that Paula Brackston really gives readers a first-hand account of each character’s thoughts. With this style, I feel I can connect with the characters more.  The Little Shop of Found Things is a solid 4.5 stars rounded to 5 for me.

Special thanks to Paula Brackston, St. Martin’s PressNetGalley for providing my copy in exchange for an honest & fair review.

Let’s connect with books!  We have all of our reviews on Goodreads!

Really Into This a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: PAULA BRACKSTON

Book Review: The Little Shop of Found Things by Paula Brackston Author Bio Goodreads
Paula Brackston | Goodreads

Paula Brackston lives in a wild, mountainous part of Wales. She has an MA in Creative Writing from Lancaster University, and is a Visiting Lecturer for the University of Wales, Newport. Before becoming a writer, Paula tried her hand at various career paths, with mixed success. These included working as a groom on a racing yard, as a travel agent, a secretary, an English teacher, and a goat herd. Everyone involved (particularly the goats) is very relieved that she has now found a job she is actually able to do properly.

When not hunched over her keyboard in her tiny office under the stairs, Paula is dragged outside by her children to play Swedish tennis on the vertiginous slopes which surround them. She also enjoys being walked by the dog, hacking through weeds in the vegetable patch, or sitting by the pond with a glass of wine. Most of the inspiration for her writing comes from stomping about on the mountains being serenaded by skylarks and buzzards.

In 2007 Paula was short listed in the Creme de la Crime search for new writers. In 2010 her book ‘Nutters’ (writing as PJ Davy) was short listed for the Mind Book Award, and she was selected by the BBC under their New Welsh Writers scheme.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Let's Be Friends

Receive our newsletter filled with recs to find your next pop culture obsession. 

Thanks for subscribing!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This